Recover from an iPod Restore

The iTunes Restore button

Clicking the iTunes Restore button is the equivalent of telling your computer to Format a hard drive.

An iPod Restore erases the iPods drive structure. After an iTunes restore you should end up with an empty iPod, just like when it was new in the box.

The iPod restore command is usually accompanied by a warning such as this:

image30.jpg
 

After an iPod restore you are in one of two situations:

image7.gif You have a clean iPod, but still have your files in your iTunes music library.

In this case you don't have a problem as you can connect your iPod to your computer and re-sync with iTunes.

image10.gif You have a clean iPod, but no longer have your songs or files on your PC.

In this instance you need iPod recovery software. The Restore command however does not actually erase the data from your iPod. The data, including music and video can be recovered.

Follow the Guide to using Recover My iPod.